Rumelhart Prize Winners

The David E. Rumelhart Prize is awarded annually to an individual or collaborative team making a significant contemporary contribution to the theoretical foundations of human cognition. The prize consists of a certificate, a citation of the awardee’s contribution, and a monetary award of $100,000. The winner delivers a lecture and is honored at a reception at the annual meeting of the Cognitive Science Society.

The Rumelhart Prize is funded by the Robert J. Glushko and Pamela Samuelson Foundation, based in San Francisco. Robert J. Glushko is an entrepreneur in Silicon Valley who received a Ph. D. in Cognitive Psychology in 1979 under Rumelhart’s supervision. Previous winners of the prize are listed below.

2001 – Geoffrey Hinton
2002 – Richard M. Shiffrin
2003 – Aravind Joshi
2004 – John R. Anderson
2005 – Paul Smolensky
2006 – Roger Shepard
2007 – Jeffrey L. Elman
2008 – Shimon Ullman
2009 – Susan Carey
2010 – James McClelland
2011 – Judea Pearl
2012 – Peter Dayan
2013 – Linda B. Smith
2014 – Ray Jackendoff
2015 – Michael I. Jordan
2016 – Dedre Gentner

More information about the Rumelhart Prize, including links to biographies of the previous winners is available at The David E. Rumelhart Prize website. And a Rumelhart Prize medal video is here.